Skip to main content

Lake County lawmakers honored as legislators of the year by statewide local government association

Source: Lake County News

NORTHERN CALIFORNIA – On Wednesday, special districts throughout California recognized Representative John Garamendi (D-Walnut Grove) and Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D-Winters) as their Legislators of the Year at a virtual event.

This is the first year that the California Special Districts Association, or CSDA, has chosen to recognize both a state and federal lawmaker with this distinction.

Garamendi was selected for his drafting of legislation to include special districts in future COVID-19 relief funding, as well as formally defining special districts in federal code.

Aguiar-Curry was honored for her leadership as chair of the California State Assembly Local Government Committee, consistent support of local authority measures and her efforts to coordinate with local governments throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

In 2020, both lawmakers went above and beyond in their support of communities served by special districts, the association said.

Read more here.